Afenifere Removes Adebanjo as Acting Leader and Deputy Leader

The Pan Yoruba Socio-Political Group, Afenifere, has eliminate the roles of Acting Leader and Deputy Leader within the organization, positions currently held by Pa Ayo Adebanjo and Oba Oladipo Olaitan
Pa Adebanjo
Pa AdebanjoGoogle

The resolution was reached during the group's monthly meeting at the residence of its national leader, Pa Reuben Fasoranti, in Akure, Ondo state. The primary objective of this decision is to put an end to internal divisions.

During the meeting, which was presided over by Oba Olu Falae at the behest of Pa Fasoranti, a motion to abolish the dual roles of Acting Leader and Deputy Leader was introduced by 92-year-old Professor of Surgery, Samuel Ibikunle from Ogun State. The motion was seconded by Dr Niyi Ikuomelo from Ondo state.

In a communique conveyed to journalists by the National Publicity Secretary, Jare Ajayi, the group emphasized the necessity of this decision to foster unity and prevent further fragmentation within Afenifere.

Professor lbikunle, while moving the motion said that ” based on the report of the reconciliation committee, that it has reached a dead end and is unable to achieve reconciliation, l, Prof Samuel lbikunle of Ogun state Afenifere, hereby move that the offices of the acting leader and deputy leader should be dissolved into an Afenifere Elders Caucus to be constituted by the leader.”

The communique reads “A motion on the need to abrogate the dual positions of Acting Leader and Deputy Leader was moved by Dr. S. J. Ibikunle from Ogun State. It was seconded by members from Ekiti, Kwara, Oyo and Ondo States.

“When the matter was thrown to the general house, the motion was unanimously carried.

“Flowing from this, the Leader then declared as follows: that “In the light of recent events and the pressing need to reposition and rejuvenate Afenifere, it has been decided as follows: the position of Acting Leader and Deputy Leader has now been abrogated, the responsibilities and authority of advising the Leader Afenifere and Asiwaju Yoruba are now vested in the Afenifere Elders Caucus which is hereby constituted.

“Members of the Elders Caucus* are as follow: Chief R. F. Fasoranti – Chairman, Chief Ayo Adebanjo, HRM Oba Olu Falae, HE Senator C O Adebayo, Senator Femi Okunrounmu, Basorun Seinde Arogbofa, Senator Kofo Bucknor Akerele, Arch Bishop Prince Ayo Ladigbolu, Lt. Gen Alani Ipoola Akinrinade, Maj Gen. Olu Bajowa rtd, Prof Bolaji Akinwande Akinyemi, Prof Banji Akintoye, Prof Samuel Ibikunle, Chief Femi Aluko, Prince Alonge, Dr Yomi Finnih, Prince Olusi, Hon Korede Duyile, Prof Ropo Sekoni, Hon Lekan Alabi and Dr Kunle Olajide.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Latest Lagos Local News -