Tinubu Inaugurates 17 Federal Population Commissioners

President Tinubu
President Tinubugoogle

President Bola Tinubu has officially inaugurated 17 federal commissioners of the National Population Commission, whom he nominated in November last year.

At the Council Chamber of the Aso Rock Villa, Abuja, the 17 new and returning commissioners took the oath of office in three batches on Wednesday afternoon.

On November 8, 2023, President Tinubu appointed 20 federal commissioners to the NPC, including nine who were appointed for a second term in office. He then forwarded the names of 19 out of the 20 nominees to the Senate for confirmation on December 12, a month later.

Out of the nominees, only 17 attended the Senate’s screening on February 24, 2024, among them were Emmanuel Eke from Abia state; Clifford Zirra from Adamawa state; Chidi Ezeoke from Anambra state; Isa Buratal from Borno state; and Alex Ukam from Cross River state, all of whom were subsequently confirmed.

Others are Tony Alyejina (Edo); Ejike Ezeh (Enugu); Abubakar Damburam (Gombe); Uba Nnabue (Imo); Sa’adatu Garba (Kaduna); Aminu Ibrahim Tsanyawa (Kano); Yori Afolabii (Kogi); Mary Afan (Plateau); Saany Sale (Taraba) and Ogiri Henry (Rivers).

Related Stories

No stories found.
Latest Lagos Local News - Lagoslocalnews.com