New Caretaker Chairmen Assume Duties in Rivers State LGAs

Caretaker Chairmen
Caretaker ChairmenGoogle photo

The Caretaker Committee Chairmen for the 23 Local Government Areas of Rivers State have officially taken office, swearing in their members and dissolving all standing committees established by the previous council administrations.

Governor Siminalayi Fubara, who inaugurated the chairmen at the Government House, urged them to promote peace and work from any location temporarily. Following their swearing-in, the chairmen also dissolved all task forces set up by their predecessors and pledged to clear outstanding salaries owed by the former administrations.

Evans Bipi, the CTC Chairman of Ogu/Bolo LGA, highlighted his administration’s focus on human capital development, economic empowerment, and job creation to enhance the quality of life for residents. He also committed to addressing hunger and poverty through “stomach infrastructure” and providing grants for small and medium-scale enterprises.

In Eleme LGA, CTC Chairman Brain Gokpa, after swearing in his members, emphasized security and inclusive governance. Gokpa reassured stakeholders of his collaborative approach and condemned recent vandalism at the council secretariat. He also dissolved youth councils and standing committees, directing the revenue director to manage all revenues until new committees are appointed.

Marvin Yorbana, they new CTC Chairman of Khana LGA, promised an inclusive government focused on empowering young people, the elderly, and women. Yorbana urged his committee members to work together and engage with community leaders to attract businesses and build capacity in Khana. He also pledged to implement the Governor’s directives to pay workers' salaries and dissolved all previous appointees and committees.

Latest Lagos Local News -