INEC Prepares for By-Elections with Over 8,500 BVAS

The Independent National Electoral Commission is set to deploy over 8,500 Bimodal Verification Accreditation System machines for the February 3 re-rerun and by-elections on February 3, 2024.
BVASthe punch

The elections will take place in a total of 8,890 polling units, according to a document posted by INEC on its X handle.

The by-elections are scheduled for nine states in 4,294 polling units, while reruns will occur in 4,596 polling units.

The breakdown indicates that for the senatorial districts, elections are slated for Ebonyi South, Ebonyi State, and Yobe East, Yobe State.

Concerning the state constituencies, INEC will conduct elections in Chibok State Constituency, Borno State; Chikun State Constituency, Kaduna State, and Guma State Constituency, Benue State.

For federal constituencies, elections are planned for Akoko North-East/Akoko North-West Federal Constituency, Ondo State; Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency, Taraba State; Surulere 1 Federal Constituency, Lagos State; and Yauri/Shanga/Ngaski Federal Constituency, Kebbi State.

While court-ordered re-run elections are scheduled for 4,596 polling units, elections will also be conducted in one senatorial district of Plateau Central and 12 federal constituencies.

The federal constituencies include Surulere 1 (Lagos), Gauri/Shanta/Ingaski, and Arewa/Dandi (Kebbi), Akoko North-East/North-West (Ondo), Jalingo/Yorro/Zing (Taraba), Ikono/Ini (Akwa Ibom), and Akamkpa/Biase (Cross River State).

Others are Nnewi North/Nnewi South and Orumba North/Orumba South (Anambra), Igbo Eze North/Udenu (Enugu), Birnin Kudu/Buji (Jigawa), Igabi and Kachia/Kagarko (Kaduna), Faskari/Kankara/Sabuwa (Katsina), Jos North/Bases (Plateau), and Fine/Fune (Yobe).

Similarly, senatorial elections are planned for Yobe-East and Plateau Central following court orders.

At the state level, elections are set to fill vacant positions in Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Enugu, Kaduna, Kano, Nasarawa, Niger, Oyo, Sokoto, Zamfara, Benue, and Borno state.

It was also gathered that a total of 4,567,689 Nigerians are eligible to vote in 8,890 polling units on February 3, 2024.

It is expected that the commission provides at least one BVAS per polling unit and some backup BVAS for a smooth electoral process.

The final list of candidates will be published on January 17 and the campaign is expected to start on January 18 and close on February 1.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Latest Lagos Local News -